Star Wars TCG

Revenge Of The Sith

Return Of The Jedi

Phantom Menace Expansion Page

Rogues And Scoundrels Expansion Page

Empire Strikes Back Expansion Page

Jedi Guardians Expansion Page

Battle of Yavin Expansion Page

A New Hope Expansion Page

Sith Rising Expansion Page

Attack of the Clones Expansion Page
Home> Games> Star Wars:TCG

Printer FriendlyPrinter Friendly Archive
Michael Mikaelian

Anatomy of a Card

01 - Where to Begin
02 - Anatomy of a Card
03 - Space Cards
04 - Ground Cards
05 - Character Cards
06 - Using the Force
07 - Card Abilities and Strategies
08 - Grand Battles
09 - Game Setup
10 - Deck Building

Just understanding what the different parts of a Star Wars TCG card do will give you a lot of information about how the game is played. There are five different kinds of cards: Character, Ground, Space, Mission, and Battle. There are elements common to all these kinds of cards, and there are some elements that are unique. For instance, all of the cards that are vertical (such as Anakin Skywalker) stay on the table when you play them, while all of the horizontal cards (such as Jedi Knight's Deflection) do what they say when you play them and then are immediately put in the discard pile.

Here is what the different parts of a Star Wars TCG card do:

A. Build Cost: This is how many build points it costs to put this card into play. During setup and on each turn, players get build points they can use to play the cards in their hands.
B. Name: This is the name of the Character, Ground, or Space unit, or Mission or Battle card.
C. Card Type: This tells you whether the card is a Character, Ground, Space, Mission, or Battle card. Character, Ground, and Space cards are collectively called units, and are often referred to that way. Some cards have additional information, such as Jedi Padawan or Starfighter. This is the card's subtype, and it can occasionally affect or be affected by other cards.
D. Affiliation: This shows whether the card is a Light Side (), Dark Side (), or neutral card
E. Speed: Units attack in Speed order, from highest to lowest. If there's ever a tie between a Light Side unit's Speed and Dark Side unit's Speed, the Dark Side unit always attacks first.
F. Expansion Icon: This tells you what expansion set the card belongs to. These cards are all from the Attack of the Clones set.
G. Power: This is how many dice you roll when this unit attacks. Some abilities can increase or decrease a unit's Power. Each 1, 2, or 3 rolled is a miss. Each 4, 5, or 6 is a hit.
H. Health: This is how many hits a unit can take before it's discarded. When there are as many damage counters as this number on a card, it's discarded.
I. Card Text: This is what the card does when played (Mission or Battle cards) or while it's on the table (unit cards). Some unit's abilities are always in effect. Others require you to perform some action, such as tapping the card or using the Force, to create an effect. These activated abilities have the cost and effect separated by an arrow (). Some cards also have flavor text, which is often a quote or fact about the card.
J. Version Letter: Cards that represent individual Character, Ground, and Space units (such as Anakin Skywalker and Obi-Wan's Starfighter) have a letter near their bottom right-hand corner. The more versions there are of a unique unit, the more powerful and versatile it can be.
K. Card Number and Rarity Icon: The number before the slash is the card's number. The number after the slash is the total number of cards in the same set. Common cards () are the easiest to find. Uncommon cards () are less plentiful. Rare cards () are often the most powerful and collectible of the three.

Next - Space Cards