Email a friend Discuss This Article Printer Friendly

Extended Format Changes

Friday, May 17, 2002

There will be a significant change to the Extended tournament format when Onslaught rotates into play in the fall. Standard has a rotation every 3 sets. Similarly, Extended will have a rotation every 3 blocks. While Standard fluctuates between 4 and 6 sets, Extended will fluctuate between 6 and 8 blocks.

At the initial implementation of this pattern, the legal blocks will be: Onslaught, Odyssey, Invasion, Mercadian Masques, Urza's Saga, and Tempest. Base set editions are counted as being part of the block during which they were released. This means that 6th Edition and 7th Edition will be included in the new Extended format.

As a result, this means that dual lands will be rotating out of Extended on November 1st, 2002, along with the Ice Age block (including Alliances and Homelands), Mirage Block (including Visions and Weatherlight), and 5th edition. In 2005 the Tempest, Urza's Saga, and Mercadian Masques blocks, as well as 6th Edition, will be rotating out.

We believe this new Extended Format rotation policy will result in a healthy and challenging play environment with a greatly reduced need for card banning.

Discuss "Extended Format Changes" on the message boards Discuss on the message boards Kyle Murray archive Kyle Murray archive

What is Magic?
2008 Regionals